United States of America

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Happy Birthday to the United States of America: A country where I can criticize the government with impunity; a country where I can buy guns if I want; a country where I can travel in my car without permission; a country where I can practice my religion freely; a country where I can vote for whomever I choose without coercion; a country where I can own my land; a country where I can have more than one child–even six–without penalty.  The greatest country on the face of the Earth–without apology and without exception.

Blest with vict’ry and peace, may the Heav’n rescued land
Praise the Power that hath made and preserved us a nation!
Then conquer we must, when our cause it is just,
And this be our motto: “In God is our trust.”

-The Star Spangled Banner

About Ben

I'm a father, a husband, an educator, and a soldier. I love the outdoors especially the mountains.

I encourage thoughtful and respectful discussions about anything I write.

